2015.

After four months without writing, numerous freak outs, and many, many bottles of wine, I’ve come to the realization that it has been a rollercoaster of a year. Through scanning my absurd number of Instagram postings, there are some things I want to keep with me as I move into what I hope will be a new, prosperous year.

  1. My kids are what get me through my days.
  2. I want to go back to school, and I’m ready to take steps toward it. No, I don’t know how I will get the $38,000 needed to complete my masters nor how I will find the time between my career, business, and lame summer camp job, but signs are telling me that it’s time I start acting.
  3. I am an Izzie Stevens. I’m not a Bailey or a Yang, and at this point in my life, I’m okay with that. I get emotionally involved, and I’m not going to give up that part of me nor apologize for it.
  4. What doesn’t kill me will, in time, make me stronger.
  5. No one is perfect, and everyone deserves a second chance. Sometimes a third, maybe even a fourth. We’re all human, myself included, and we’re all dealing with something.
  6. It’s important to push myself as much as it is to push others.
  7. Stand for something. Don’t stay in a toxic relationship. Refuse to give a big tip for shitty service. Whatever opposition, I need to remember that I have a voice that is valid and important and needs to be heard.
  8.  “Things change and friends leave, and life doesn’t stop for anybody.” Life doesn’t stop, and I shouldn’t allow anything to stop it. Life teaches lessons as much as I do in my classroom. I need to give setbacks the time they deserve, learn the lessons they possess, and move on to brighter days.
  9. I need to find more time to appreciate the little positives. Not every week will have some monumental, life changing experience, and you know what? That’s okay. I’m alive. I made it to the end of the week. I have a career and great kids, friends and family, and I somehow made it past all of the Britney Spears ’07 “shaving of the head” chaos to get to the end of the week. That’s worth celebrating.
  10. Never stop smiling, and never stop believing that somewhere out there is the smallest bit of unyielding hope that life really is a great place, all people have an ounce of good in them, and good things will come to those who are good to others.

And this is my story.
Good afternoon, good evening, and goodnight.

Leave a Reply

