One month, seventeen pounds, and many, many musicals later..

I can’t believe I’ve gone a month without writing.. Okay, so I failed in my pseudo-resolution to write everyday which bums me out a little, but I have been adamant about keeping the resolutions scribed and signed, the ones that adorn the table behind my living room couch.

I suppose this post is more of an update regarding my life than some deep, metaphorical revelation. I’ve been okay, working on doing well. Work has been nothing short of work. With the new state assessment coming in the next three weeks, everything I do in class seems to start with a similar preface of, “Here’s another thing you’ll see on the PARCC.” It sucks, readers. If you’re lucky enough to teach in a state that opted out of the consortium, I salute you and your educational leaders who stand on the front lines as standardized testing adversaries. Truly, I do. As a student who grew up in a system which thrived on state testing, I never thought much of it. The test appeared at the same time each year. There were speeches about the importance of getting a good night’s rest and eating breakfast. We got new pencils and were allowed to wear more comfy clothes. It was a weak of silence and tired students, but after that week was over, there was no more talk of the big bad test. If only that was the protocol now.

I’ve really been adamant about working to better myself this year in every way that I can. Since the beginning of the year, I’ve lost seventeen lifeless pounds, a feat that us big and beautiful broads strive for. I think that anyone who has experienced the perils of dieting understands that it’s more so a change of lifestyle than a change of activity. Still, there is a long, long way to go.

qq94rc

(Side note – screw you, doc, for not acknowledging my successes. A lifestyle change doesn’t happen overnight, but I’ve made progress! Bah.)

In conjunction with bettering the outside me, the inside me is getting a little revamping, too. I should have made one of my resolutions this year to rediscover and fall back in love with myself, but I guess that’s an embarrassing thing to admit to your friends as they type your goals for you to keep. I’m rediscovering my love and more so my reliance on music this year. Last month, Ms. Bohemian and I ventured to the concrete jungle to see If/Then with the amazing Idina Menzel. As a thespian at heart, I love to say that all musicals touch my soul, but saying that this show did anything less would be a grave injustice. To keep it short and sweet (for those of you who are fortunate enough to have the chance to get to the city before the show closes on 3/22), If/Then takes a bold look at analyzing how to choose your life path and what happens if you choose one road over another. It was unavoidable to see myself in Elizabeth (and Liz and Beth, separately). I’m coming to a point in my life – both personally and professionally – in which I need to decide if I should stay on the road that I’m on or risk unexplored territory. I believe I’ve written about my desires to return to school a few months ago. If you have a chance to see the show, see it. I can’t say what you’ll get out of it or if you’ll leave as enlightened as I had, but I can assure you an unforgettable experience.

Speaking of musicals, I’ve embarked on my first middle school musical journey as an assistant director/dialect coach for our school’s spring production of an all time Disney favorite. Now, I can’t say too much about the production, but what I can say is that it’s on its way of becoming an amazing Jr. experience which honors the movie and the show while elevating our students to new heights. I’m already so proud of them!Feel the good vibes. This is my life for the next two months!

And so, dear friends, I must depart (and hopefully not for a month this time). As per always, I find myself battling a wicked cold weeks before testing and in the middle of the most intense pre-scaffolding rehearsals. I’m going to keep my head up, though. I’m determined to do so.

New year, new me.

And I mean it this time.

Ms. S.

Leave a Reply

