Slice of a thousand wishes.

For Christmas, a colleague of mine gave me the Bath&Body Works fragrance set in “A Thousand Wishes.” As a complete girly-girl (and one who used to work at a BBW, might I add), I was elated by the gesture and generosity, as well as the thoughtfulness. As I opened my gifts, this great friend held her card until the end, stating that everything will make sense once I’ve read what she had written. Of the many touching words she had written, her first and second wishes to me resinated the most: “remember nothing stays the same, and nothing lasts forever” and “start fresh – here’s to a new beginning.”

Admittedly, we weren’t the best of colleagues during our time together, but a friendship certainly blossomed when we both faced drastic changes during the new school year. I make a point to see her weekly to check in on how her class is going, to vent about life, and to share a giggle or two. The saying is true – you don’t know what you have until it’s gone.

Today, I stopped in to see my fellow ELA enthusiast to discuss plans for the new year. When I got there, she was beyond ecstatic about a project idea and couldn’t wait to share. Roughly 20 minutes later, we conceived a proposal for a project including my seventh grade AP students and her sixth grade inclusion class to research major world events of the 21st century to rewrite Billy Joel’s “We Didn’t Start the Fire” with modern world issues. Both of our students would do the research, and we would designate class periods to collaborate and to create. We are elated with the idea that, in our male dominated content area (or so they think), we could create a cross-curricular, cross-grade level, collaboration-driven, student centered, real world assignment.

I guess one of her wishes for me came true: so far this year, a fresh start and a new beginning are in my horizon.

Ms. Sunshine

5 thoughts on “Slice of a thousand wishes.

  1. This sounds amazing! I love it when great ideas in teaching show up! I will have to look into this smell at BBW. I haven’t smelled it yet.
    Good luck with the project!

    • Thanks, dear! We have such high hopes for it, and I think that if it works, it will completely change how we both look at how we run our classrooms. I’m pretty stoked.

      Oh, it’s a keeper! 🙂

  2. I love when things work out just right! Finding someone who you can share ideas and is willing to take risks and try new things is wonderful. Good luck with this! You have some very lucky students!

    • I completely agree! I’m thankful that, although we aren’t on the same team anymore, we are still fighting the same fight.

      Thank you! 🙂 Hopefully I’ll have good stories to share in the future!

Leave a Reply

