A letter to a past self.

I found this video a few weeks ago and couldn’t help but smile at the enthusiasm teachers would like to express to their novice selves as they first started in education if given the opportunity to share their new found wisdom.

Two years ago, while being shot angry glares on the fourth floor of the computer lab for my frantic typing, I sat down and produced the closest thing to a manifesto that I could muster – a letter to my future self (see “throwback” tab). Within that letter, I let future-me know that although things may seem crazy, everything will be okay, and, in true Ms. Sunshine fashion, sent some rays her way. After watching this video, I couldn’t help but think of what I’d say to first year me. Granted, this was just nine months ago, but what would happen if I had known then what I know now? And thus, the letter to a past self.

No matter how many times I started this soliloquy, something yearned to be different from the heartfelt reminders written as my TNLB post assessment. As a result, this video was created. Fueled with the first few words of a note left unfinished, here is my letter to you, Ms. S., as you move forward on this journey, and to all other new teachers, best of luck.

Leave a Reply

