2014 wrap up

Lisa lemons never ceases to amaze me. Once again, this amazing gem has found the heart of the day and the meaning of NYE. As Lisa Writes, let me introduce to you lovely people my 2014 wrap up.

Yes, 2014. I was as inquisitive as you are when I read Lisa’s plan, but the girl is a genius. Instead of making resolutions saying “I will” or “I promise to,” your plan is a flash forward into the future to acknowledge the great things you have yet to do. The things you will do, not just promise to as the ball drops at midnight.

1. I survived my first year of teaching and lived to talk about it. Granted, most of my stories were war stories about surviving the trenches of RAC and testing, but hey, I did it.

2. I started saving money for something that I truly want: NOLA.

3. I stopped complaining.. as much. It’s a bad day, not a bad life.

4. I ate more vegetables but then remembered how great chocolate was. The chess match continued.

5. I watched my first group of students graduate, and as much as it broke my heart to see them leave the building, I knew that they made it through eight grade on their own. I couldn’t have been more proud.

6. I gave up being disappointed when things didn’t go the way I had envisioned them (or tried to). I tried to enjoy more and expect less.

7. I called one of my close friends every week for a quality vent sesh.

8. I celebrated the successes of my friends. This year, there were plenty of them.

9. Speaking of celebrating, I went to a wedding. And cried. I heard of an engagement.. and cried. Much crying and celebrating happened in 2014.

10. I went back to reading books that I wasn’t teaching, i.e. books for me.

11. I planned the second annual anti-bullying walk, and I’m as proud of this one as I was the first.

12. I annoyed my brother more and tried to spend more time at home home.

13. I went to the cities more and tried to remember that there is so much wonderful around outside of the day to day routine.

14. I surrounded myself in love.

There you have it! My 2014. Whatever you wish for yours, I hope that all of your aspirations are fulfilled and that you are healthy, happy, and loved.
Rock on, NYE.
– Ms. S.

Leave a Reply

