When all else fails, laugh at what plopped.

All too often, something will happen within the dragon filled halls or the sunshine room that immediately makes me think, “Quick! Jot it down! Blog it later!” In retrospect, that is, of the first ten days of my career, there have been “blog moments,” as we’ll call them, every day. There are always moments when for a split second I think, “what the hell am I doing?!” before quickly answering myself, “following your dreams, you twit.” There are always moments when I cry from laughter. There are always moments when I question how in the world some people think, both students and adults alike. This life, the life of the lifelong learner, is a roller coaster to say the least.

I’ve officially been teaching for twelve days. Twelve. That sounds crazy to me; it feels like so much longer. In those twelve days, I’ve become a home owner, a pension collector, a PBIS spokesperson, and an event coordinator, all in conjunction with being the best teacher that I can be. It’s already frustrating to know that as I come into my own in the reading room, I’m already being judged on the type of teacher that I am. At a RAC inservice, a wise speaker was quoted in saying that it takes ten years to feel fully confident and comfortable in your job and to feel as though “you’ve got this.” Ten years. At times, I feel that ten years is quite often mistaken for ten days. I come from a prestigious university, of which I love uncontrollably, and personally, I believe that I was trained better than most. However, I am ten years from my ten years, so it is unrealistic to assume that, as a greenhorn in the world of education, I can portray myself as a master when I’m still developing and learning about the teacher I would like to be. I’m a work in progress. As Elizabeth Gilbert would say, I’m a woman without a word; I’m not quite there yet, but I’m on my way.

I’m a firm believer in the notion that when you love what you do, you’ll never work a day in your life.

20130920-213503.jpg
Say hello to back to school night 2013.

Even after hours of reading, disciplining, and shining my way through a few challenging classes, I could still, with a full heart and utter sincerity, explain to the parents of my little sunshines how much I value my job and how lucky I am to have the opportunity to work with their students. Pros, THAT’S when you know.

When all else fails, I hope that all of you, especially my novice teacher friends, find one reason to laugh, genuinely laugh, everyday. Whether you find humor in apples on apples on apples (or brand muffins, depending on your morning) or that one student in period three who was brought to tears by the phrase, “the teacher plopped it on her desk,” laugh. Laugh at the times when your keys fall in the toilet. Laugh at when you and your colleagues subconsciously match outfits.. everyday. Laugh when your students comment about how much swag is happening in your room. Just laugh. It’s the best medicine. If you can find one ray of sunshine in your day, no matter how faint, it was a good day.

Shine on, educators.
– Ms. S.

Leave a Reply

